Two levels of decision making exist:
  • The executive branch
  • The legislative branch

The executive branch

The presidentis headed by a president who is assisted by a committee (bureau) elected for 4 years by the Board of Regents. The committee is composed of the vice-presidents and advisors.

More informations about : (french version) presidentcommittee | vice-presidents | advisors

The legislative branch

The main decisions which guide the executive branch are taken by the councils and the commissions which are composed of professors, administrative and technical staff and students.

They are divided in two levels:
  • The University level, the central level (Board of Regents, Council of Academic Affairs, Research Commission, Academics and University Life Commission, International Relations Council) More informations (french version)
  • The component level, the local level.

Administration’s Executive Management

The Administration’s Executive Management coordinates and organizes all administrative, financial and technical services of the University.
These services are organized regarding two main missions:
  • management and development
  • support to academic activities.
These services implement the policy of the University under the authority of the General Director of the Services.

Faculties, schools, institutes, departments and laboratories

The university consists of 20 components: 11 faculties and academic and research units (UFR), 6 institutes, 1 school for teacher training, 1 engineering school and 1 observatory of Earth and planetary sciences.
In general, these components consist of academic departments and research laboratories. They have their own management board.